Reading the Cluetrain

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My little computer

First of all, yes I know I haven’t posted anything on this blog for sometime. There are a number of reasons for this.

1. I had nothing of any interest that a PR person at the BBC could say on her blog. I know such things are all about transparency but sometimes in my position its safer to say nothing at all.

2. The workload of my day job increased spectacularly.

3. I felt guilty I never finished reading the cluetrain. I gotta tell you for me its hard work, and to be honest although there are many interesting ideas in there they are repeated a lot. Mind you didn’t or should I say haven’t yet read the whole thing so I’m not in the best position to predict the ending.

Excuses, excuses? Perhaps. Short attention span? Definitely. However, I am back on the blog because I have a new project.

One of the lovely engineers that I look after has got me a little computer to use which runs on Linux. I didn’t have one at all so it made looking at people’s stuff when I was abroad at something like IBC or indeed next week when I’m on a TV technology course (prepared to be bamboozled Sarah) more than a little difficult.

I tried it out last night. So far, its bloody excellent. You can teach yourself Chinese for gods sake! Wasn’t expecting that. The best thing about it though is that it includes all the packages that I expect from Windows (if appearing slightly, slightly different) and for free! Actually bone fide free! I’m a PR person we like free. Also and I like this better than the Chinese language bit but there’s a star map! Yesterday I travelled round the world in about 35 seconds, not bad is it?

I know you sit with breath that is bated for the next installment. I’ll keep you in the loop.

November 18, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

