Reading the Cluetrain

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Have you got a Tweetcret? To name or not to name, that is the question.

Recently I have been getting a newsletter from Contagious , a quarterly intelligence briefing in publication that claims to identify  ‘ideas, trends and innovations behind the world’s most’ (and I hate this word but ho hum) ‘revolutionary marketing strategies.’ To date it has been interesting but not sparked more in me than a ‘Hmm’. This issue however, it lead me back to the philosophies of the Cluetrain.

 

 

This time it featured an article about how web trends are cyclical and how a twitter brand extension called tweetcret which takes us back to having an anonymous voice on the web. It made me wonder how this will play out with the hardcore internet community who from my experience definitely follow the Cluetrain’s mantra that everyone and everything should be transparent and named online. Indeed, at a recent event  

 

 

Mirona Lliescu a lovely lady I have met since I have touched this world commented that she is glad that my blog is not anonymous anymore. I explained that I was new to blogging and frankly was more than a bit nervous but I listened to the arguments and figured it was better if people did know who I am even though to be honest a part of me still feels a tad uncomfortable with it.

 

 

But back to tweetcret, I am definitely going to watch that space. As you (probably have already seen) from the current entries the posts are predictably more ‘out there’ than they would be if the poster were named and shamed. The site is on pause at the moment to sort out its spam filter or something and I suspect as does one of the people who has posted that it’s the comments are from ‘the same five girls’ at the moment. The look of the site is distinctly aimed at females and our gossip gene so who knows whether it will gather momentum.

 

 

I guess the argument is that should some areas of the web should be a place where people can “anonymously” rant and express themselves? Will such services be used by a different more mainstream demographic than the hardcore net community? Or will they just reflect the divided identities of our online selves? Or, will such services just die in the water? Personally, I think it will be a combination of ranting and a split personality.

 

 

Before I blogged as a BBC person I had a personal kind of anonymous blog somewhere else. I enjoyed it, I like a rant. It was mostly concerned with kids playing-out their mobile phones on public transport, (I hate that), nightmare dates (why I won’t go out with someone who tattoos VEGAN on the bottom of their back) and my general opinions on life and society. It was for me, and a very small readership of my friends e.g. Fran and Claire (not that I am exactly nudging JK Rowling off her pedestal now of course) I just liked having a place to say what I wanted, get it off my chest without worrying about the consequences. To be honest I don’t feel I can do that here when even my minimal readership know where I work.

 

Hmm, maybe I should subscribe to Tweetcret or as one of the posts on the site says “if you cant say it to her face then that makes you a pussy. grow up.”

 

April 30, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

