Reading the Cluetrain

Just another WordPress.com weblog

8 random things about me

I have just noticed this thing that Ian Forrester reckons I should do. I don’t really get it yet. Memetics? Something to do with cultural transference, erm – what? When I have the time I will look into this more but at the moment I am following instructions only.

 Here are the rules:

  1. Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
  2. People who are tagged need to write a post on their own blog (about their eight things) and post these rules.
  3. At the end of your blog, you need to choose four people to get tagged and list their names.
  4. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

 1. I attended Lady Diana’s funeral 

You may remember that when the funeral for the Princess of Wales was held various groups of people walked behind the royal family. One element to this mix of people were representatives from the 500 charities she used to endorse. At the time my Dad was on the executive committee for one of these charities.

My Dad has had a bad leg for years so he asked me if I would like to go. At the time I was a twenty two year old film graduate so even though I am not a huge royalist I thought it was a historic moment that could not be missed.   On the train up to London I met a particularly notorious member of the Medway massive who had surprisingly decided to attend along with this fold up stool. I never ever would have thought this guy would go to something like that but I guess it is true her influence certainly transcended societal divides.   As I met with my fellow charity processionals we were ordered about by people in uniform, (which reinforced my status as a pacifist) I discovered that Jayne Asher wears a lot of perfume, and more importantly that I was now an eye witness to the biggest international news story of that day, week, even year. 

 2. I don’t wear high heels  

Some of this is because A) I am already five foot 8 so a lot of people, (particularly men these days I have noticed) are really bloody short. B) I naturally walk very fast and purposefully. High heels do not allow me to do this. It makes me late for things, vulnerable to the perils of South London and it hurts C) I feel like a man in drag.   

3. If I wasn’t a PR I’d want to be a singer. 

I love it! It makes me happy and I’m not even scared to sing on stage.  At present I am learning Valerie. My brother Matt and I tried it out last time I was at home. He gets the guitar tabs off of the internet and I sing a long. My favourite song to sing is ‘By the sea’ by Morecheba and second favourite ‘Blow your mind’ by Jamiroquai.   

4. I want a dog 

One of the reasons I am currently obsessed with Nintendogs is because I want a real dog. I doted on my childhood companion Jinx (RIP) so I know a real one would make me really happy. However, I will have to wait until I grow up as a one bedroom rented flat in South London is not really appropriate home for a dog.   

5. I’m mostly Irish 

Well I say mostly. My Dad’s side of the family are from Northern Ireland. I went back there for the first time last year. It’s a beautiful country. Bloody wet though. I am pleased to say I can still do a mean Newry accent. The best way to do this is by saying the following: ‘I have here in my hand a letter, a letter of peace, chips and fash fangers’.

 6. I once gave myself amnesia by hitting a tree with my head – hard 

I used to ride horses a lot. When I was 11 I went riding in a wood with my friend. I am told that my horse went a bit mental for no reason, (as they do) and through me off where my fall was gently broken by a tree. I can’t remember anything else after that until I woke up in hospital. My first words… ‘Where’s my riding boots?’

 7. Sometimes people think I look like Davina McCall.

Ever since Big Brother started and indeed especially over its summer season people either stare at me funny, say I Iook familiar, insist we have met before and then finally the resemblance penny drops.  I don’t think I look like her, except the odd side view and I think that’s because of our less than perfect noses. The fact she is several years older than me makes this less flattering than you would have thought.

 8. I am incredibly divvy

Professionally frankly I am pretty switched on but to be honest in the outside world I don’t know my arse from my elbow. I’d get lost in a lift, can’t read a map (AT ALL) have in the past broken, walls, irons, table’s and once wondered why the kitchen looked like a bubble covered image from a cartoon when I used washing up liquid in the dish washer.

I know quite a bit already but I’m sure there’s more to learn The London Biker

These are my mate’s folks, they live in France what a good idea The Trims

This is a blog with very funny stories about everyday folk – Sunnyside

 Probably the most important blog you will ever read, and you think Scientology is crazy – Wangology

January 24, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. […] I don’t think I’ll ever forgive the wonderful Sarah Mines for this but there you go. […]

    Pingback by 8 random things about me » The London Biker | January 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

